The Body Language period was surrounded by many rumours about writers, producers, image and, perhaps most famously, the tracklisting for the album. Increasing the mystery surrounding the release, the album was rushed forward to before, instead of after, Christmas. In addition, a completely ficticious tracklisting entitled City Games (along with a complete track-by-track review) which, in some fans' opinions, promised more that the actual album delivered was 'leaked' onto the web (see the faq more more details).

The first single release, Slow, was released in early November. Written and produced by the Sunnyroads team, the minimalist sound and video took Kylie back to the top of the charts. Backed by the tracks Soul on Fire and the album track Sweet Music, the release featured remixes by Medicine 8 and Radio Slave. Later, the Chemical Brothers remix surfaced on a limited edition promo and quickly became a fan favourite.

The Body Language album was launched by the one-off 'Money Can't Buy' concert. Attended by 4000 competition-winning fans and invited VIPs, the event was a full-on Kylie extravaganza at the London Apollo on 16th November 2003. The album itself was released on the next day and reached number 6 in the UK charts.

Four months later came the second release from the album, Red Blooded Woman. Accompanied by a video directed by Jake Nava, the single was backed by two new tracks Almost a Lover and Cruise Control (featuring an uncredited rap from Sean Paul). Fans were also treated to the commercial release of the Chemical Brothers Remix of Slow, as well as remixes of the title track by Narcotic Thrust and Whitey. Promos were also released containing remixes from Play Paul, but have yet to be commercially released.

The final release from the album, Chocolate, came in late June. Re-recorded for release (cutting down on the breathy vocals), the video featured Kylie ballet dancing. Remixes came from Tom Middleton (Cosmos) and EMO but fans were less than happy with yet another live version of Love at First Sight appearing on the two-track CD single. However, Parlophone redeemed themselves slightly with the inclusion of the much talked about City Games, possibly suggesting there was some truth in the fake album tracklisting.

Interestingly (and perhaps suspiciously), two unreleased tracks from this period were leaked onto the Internet in September. I'm Just Here For The Music and My Image Unlimited quickly spread amongst fans, although it is arguably obvious why they were not commercially released. In 2006, further tracks were leaked onto the Internet: Trippin' Me Up and I'm Sorry, both written by Pascal Gabriel and Paul Statham, as well as On the Up.

For many fans, the Body Language period was a disappointing one. It is difficult to pick out any stand-out tracks or firm fan favourites and yet there were still many interesting and unique aspects to the album and single releases. Perhaps to help remind fans of the 'good ol' days', S12 Records re-released Confide in Me on vinyl in September, in recognition of its 10th anniversary.

Buy these related albums at

Sound clips require the Flash plugin.

Audio Player

Now playing: